What's New With NAPCWA

National Award Winners Announcement - Comments Letters Submitted

APHSA Issues Press Release Announcing the 2016 NAPCWA Award Winners:


  • Cindy Walcott, Deputy Commissioner, Vermont Department of Children and Families, Recipient of the Betsey R. Rosenbaum Award for Leadership in Public Child Welfare


  • Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Chairman, Senate Finance Committee and Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR), Ranking Member, Senate Finance Committee, Recipients of the Peter W. Forsythe Award for Excellence in Public Child Welfare

APHSA and NAPCWA Submit Comments in Response to ACF's Supplemental Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on Indian Child Welfare Data Elements.


The Family First Act - Senate Finance Committee Legislation for New Federal Investments in Prevention and Policies Governing Congregate Care Settings.  On November 23, 2015, Senate Finance Committee Chairman Orrin Hatch (R-UT) and Ranking Member Ron Wyden (D-OR) released a summary of the Family First Act. The bill expands Title IV-E funding for prevention and early intervention services and includes a number of provisions that govern federal reimbursement for residential care settings. 


NAPCWA Letter on Senate Finance Family First Act


NAPCWA Submits Sign On Letter in Support of the Family-Based Foster Care Services Act (HR 835). The bill bill establishes a federal definition for Therapeutic Foster Care, often referred to as Treatment Foster Care of TFC. The bill increases access to TFC by clarifying Medicaid policy that affects foster children with special behavioral health needs and/or medical disabilities, as well as vulnerable children living with kinship and biological caregivers. 

News from Around the Country




PRESIDENT (Mountain Region)

Julie Krow 

CO Department of Human Services 


VICE PRESIDENT (Mountain Region) 

Lynn Johnson

Jefferson County (CO) Department of Human Services 


SECRETARY (Northeast Region)

Cynthia Walcott

VT Department for Children & Families 


IMM. PAST PRESIDENT (Western Region)

Greg Rose

CA Department of Social Services 


The National Association of Public Child Welfare Administrators (NAPCWA) is a national organization founded in 1983 to represent public child welfare agencies. NAPCWA’s primary members are public child welfare administers, deputies and other child welfare agency staff that envision a safe and loving public child welfare system to provide children with permanent homes and support in their social and emotional growth and development. NAPCWA provides national leadership for the development of sound policy, successful and innovative practices, and critical capacity building to improve agency performance and consumer outcomes.

NAPCWA is governed by a 25-member Executive Committee whose members are elected annually by the state and local public agency membership and is an affiliate of the American Public Human Services Association (APHSA).





Follow us on Twitter

Connect with us on Linkedin